CHC Announces Major Award Winners & All-Conference Teams

CHC Announces Major Award Winners & All-Conference Teams

MARSHFIELD, Mass. – The Colonial Hockey Conference (CHC) announced the recipients of the league's major award winners, All-Conference and All-Rookie Teams as selected by the league's seven head coaches.

Mel McAleer (Hanson, Mass.) was tabbed CHC Player of the Year after leading the conference in points with 17 on ten goals and seven assists. Her ten goals in 12 conference contests were also tops in the CHC. McAleer also shared for a league-leading seven power play points (three goals, four assists) to help guide the Bison to the most potent power play offense in league (21.6%).

Courtney Sullivan (North Yarmouth, Maine) of Endicott College earned Rookie of the Year accolades as her eight points on five goals and three assists tied her for tops in the conference in freshman scoring. The first-year standout also notched three game-winning league goals, also good for a share of tops in the league. Sullivan appeared in all 12 conference contests for the Gulls and skated to a +8 on the regular season.

Fellow Gulls teammate, Vendela Jonsson (Linkoping, Sweden) was recognized as Goaltender of the Year after posting a 5-1-1 record in CHC play while allowing only five goals. In over 420 minutes of action the senior netminder compiled a 0.71 goals against average and .965 save percentage. Jonsson also sits among the national ranks in several categories with her six overall shutouts tied for fifth-most in the country.  Her 1.10 overall goals against average ranks seventh in the country.

Andy McPhee was named Coach of the Year by his peers after guiding Endicott to a 9-2-1 CHC record (17-4-4 overall) and the number one seed in the league postseason tournament. The Gulls ranked third in scoring offense, averaging 2.42 goals per game against league opponents while their defense lead the CHC, surrendering a mere .83 goals per game. Endicott also ranked second on the penalty kill as they only allowed four power play goals on 29 attempts.

Joining McAleer on first team is her Nichols teammate Kelly Ferreira (North Falmouth, Mass.). Ferreira ranked second in the CHC with 15 points on six goals and nine assists with her nine assists being tops in the league. The senior captain finished the regular season with 28 total points (13 goals, 15 assists) and an incredible +18.

Taylor Chisholm (Discovery Bay, Calif.) of Salve Regina University claimed the third forward spot on first team after leading the Seahawks with eight points on five goals and three assists in CHC action. The senior captain recorded 21 total points on the season and skated to a +6 ranking in 25 games played.

Noelle Niemiec (Staten Island, N.Y.) was named first team All-Conference as a defender after posting nine points (three goals, six assists) in league play for the Roos. She was an offensive threat from the blue line as her nine points ranked second in league amongst defenseman scoring.

Rounding out the first team and joining her teammate Jonsson is Ellen Carter (Roseville, Minn.) from Endicott College. Carter was a key defender for the Gulls this season, playing in all situations and amongst the team leaders in minutes played. The senior finished the regular season with a +8 overall and six points on two goals and four assists.


Below is a complete list of the 2018-2019 All-Conference and All-Rookie Teams.



Forward         Mel McAleer, Nichols College

Forward         Taylor Chisholm, Salve Regina

Forward         Kelly Ferreira, Nichols College

Defense          Noelle Niemiec, SUNY Canton

Defense          Ellen Carter, Endicott College

Goaltender     Vendela Jonsson, Endicott College



Forward         Caroline Hughes, Endicott College

Forward         Jillian Gibbs, Endicott College

Forward         Jessica Ujcik, Morrisville State College

Defense          Chyne Kennedy, Morrisville State College

Defense          Jordyn McGuire, Nichols College

Goaltender     Cassandra Goyette, Nichols College



Forward         Maddison Devlin, Morrisville State College

Forward         Lexi Klein, Endicott College

Forward         Ashley Gillies, SUNY Canton

Defense          Kaitlyn Schlake, Morrisville State College

Defense          Lauren Ferraiuolo, Endicott College

Goaltender     Brooke Susac, SUNY Canton



Forward         Courtney Sullivan, Endicott College

Forward         Kenaday Nevicosi, University of New England

Forward         Sarah Kosnaskie, SUNY Canton

Defense          Kelly Leathem, SUNY Canton

Defense          Alicia Hunks, Nichols College